The Good for Nothing Button

The Good for Nothing Button Yellow Bird has a button It does nothing It is a good for nothing button Red Bird and Blue Bird are excited to try the button But when they press it they discover that the button makes them happy Hap

  • Title: The Good for Nothing Button
  • Author: Charise Mericle Harper Mo Willems
  • ISBN: 9781484726464
  • Page: 171
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Yellow Bird has a button It does nothing It is a good for nothing button Red Bird and Blue Bird are excited to try the button But when they press it, they discover that the button makes them happy Happy is something A flabbergasted Yellow Bird insists the button does nothing But it sure does seem to be making him mad Mad is something The hilarious debate thaYellow Bird has a button It does nothing It is a good for nothing button Red Bird and Blue Bird are excited to try the button But when they press it, they discover that the button makes them happy Happy is something A flabbergasted Yellow Bird insists the button does nothing But it sure does seem to be making him mad Mad is something The hilarious debate that follows takes readers on an emotional roller coaster that pokes at the power of imaginative play.

    One thought on “The Good for Nothing Button”

    1. First sentence: Hey, look! It's Yellow Bird. Hi, Yellow Bird. Look what I have. WOW! Wowee! Wow! Wow! I cannot believe it! What is it? It is a BUTTON. A red button. Red is my favorite! What does it do? NOTHING! Nothing? Premise/plot: Gerald and Piggie are getting ready to read another book together: The Good for Nothing Button. (Elephant and Piggie star in the first few pages and the last few pages of this one.) Three birds (Yellow Bird, Blue Bird, Red Bird) try to decide what a button does--if [...]

    2. I'm so glad Elephant & Piggie aren't completely gone, and that other voices are getting to join in the fun!! Adorable and funny! Could be great for tying to discussions on emotions.

    3. Part of the Elephant and Piggie Like Reading series, this early reader is a philosophical joy. Yellow Bird has a button that does absolutely nothing, or does it? He shows it to Red Bird and Blue Bird. When Blue Bird tries the button, it surprises him. And that’s not nothing! It doesn’t surprise Red Bird, which makes Blue Bird sad, also not nothing. Then Yellow Bird gets angry at their responses, which is also not nothing. Soon the button can make them do lots of things, even get funny and si [...]

    4. My kids laughed so hard at this book. They were fighting over who got to hold this book so they would have a clear view of all the funny words and pictures. Much fun.

    5. Made me giggle just like when I read Elephant and Piggie. Another winner for the new Elephant and Piggie Like Reading series.

    6. In the third offering in the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! series, we meet three friends and their different reactions to a button. My words will not bring justice to how fun this book is. I can just picture how many giggling kids there will be when reading this!

    7. This book is a hoot! Fans of Elephant and Piggie will enjoy this humorous story of three birds who react over the pushing of a button--that does nothingor does it? Introduced by none other than Elephant and Piggie, the story is enjoyed by them as well, and it leads Elephant into looking for his own button to push. Wonder where he will find one? Read and find out! A great book for early readers.

    8. Theodore Geisel Award Winner 2017What a fun book! It's the second in the Elephant & Piggie Like Reading Series and it feels very much like a Mo Willems book. Great illustrations, fun story. I'm sure it will be a hit with young readers and it would make a great discussion for what kids think their SOMETHING-est is! Highly recommend this one.

    9. Me, my son, and his entire kindergarten classroom loved this book! 3 birds find themselves alone with a red button that seemingly does nothing when they push it. However, why do their emotions change each time the button is pushed? With a great comedic voice, this author shoes kids how emotions may be more in their control than they realize.

    10. Meh. It was OK. A good beginner/easy reader. Just not to the standard of E&P. In fact, the parts I liked best were the beginning and end with E&P. The grass book was better.

    11. Compare to the brilliance of "Not a Box". A great addition to the growing Elephant and Piggie Like Reading library.

    12. I'm a big fan of Charise Mericle Harper, I loved her monster book, The Monster Show written long ago, her Fashion Kitty series, and her latest Crafty Cat title which goes from one pair of eager hands to another. I loved doing crafts when I was little, and the kids still love to make crafts in library class. The Good for Nothing Button didn't come alive for me until I read it to our kindergartens. They notice everything slipped into the pictures, the expressions on Red, Blue, and Yellow bird, the [...]

    13. Summary In The Good for Nothing Button we find ourselves in a conversation between three birds, yellow bird, blues bird and red bird. Yellow bird comes running in to tell the other birds he has a button! a button that does nothing. He offers the two birds to try it. Blue bird quickly accepts the offer and presses the button. In shock of its nothingness, blue bird jumps back after being surprised by its nothingness. Wait a second though I thought this button was suppose to do nothing. If it does [...]

    14. This book is about a yellow, red, and blue bird. The yellow bird finds a button that does nothing or so they think. They each take turns pressing the button, each time they press the button, they all feel differently about what happens. The yellow bird is convinced that it does absolutely nothing, but the red and yellow bird say differently. They say it gives them different kinds of emotions. An activity that could be done with reading this book is to get a button or something the kids have to p [...]

    15. Yellow Bird found a button and can't wait to show Red Bird and Blue Bird. When they ask him what it does he tells them, "Nothing" but they want to push the button themselves. When they do, they find out that the button does more than nothing, it does everything! This book is sure to delight any fans of Elephant and Piggie. The illustrations are simple and bright and the text is humorous but also offers a chance for understanding emotions. Blue Bird is surprised, when Red Bird doesn’t get surpr [...]

    16. This book and the other books that are a part of this new Elephant & Piggie series is an interesting idea. This book exists inside the world of Elephant & Piggie, and it's one of their favorite books. The idea is a little too meta for kids to get, but I think adults will appreciate the next level nature of it.I much prefer the actual Elephant & Piggie books, however. The humor in this book wasn't nearly as sharp and witty as with the original E&P series, and the plot was just oka [...]

    17. Yellow Bird has a button that does nothing--or does it? If you press it, nothing happens. Except when Blue Bird presses it he is surprised. That's not nothing! When Red Bird presses it nothing happens and he gets sad. That's not nothing either! Yellow Bird starts getting upset. He says a button cannot make you feel surprised or sad or mad or anything else! He starts flapping around all over the place. The other birds think that makes Yellow Bird funny. He likes being funny! So they were all funn [...]

    18. Yellow Bird has a button that does nothing. But does that mean it is good for nothing? HmmmQuite a little philosophical picture book if you really think about it. Does something have to do something to have value, and just because it doesn't innately do something does that mean it has no affect on its surroundings? You could have some really deep conversations that jump off from this book. But let's not forget the fun surface level value it has either. It's a very entertaining little easy reader [...]

    19. Cross-posted on the reviewer's personal GoodReads account:Harper, Charise Mericle The Good for Nothing Button, PICTURE BOOK. Hyperion Books for Children (Disney) 2017. $9.99. Content G. This is a delightful story! Very funny and a perfect read aloud. Part of the “Elephant and Piggy Like Reading” series, the story is told in word bubbles with a lot of repeated phrases, so the early reader can easily participate. Don’t pass on this one.EL (K-3) - ESSENTIAL Lisa Librariankissthebook/2017

    20. When a yellow bird brings a button to show to his friends (the blue bird and the red bird), they take turns pressing it. The yellow bird insists that the button does nothing, but the other birds don’t agree. This is a delightful story! Very funny and a perfect read aloud. Part of the “Elephant and Piggy Like Reading” series, the story is told in word bubbles with a lot of repeated phrases, so the early reader can easily participate. Don’t pass on this one. Cross posted to kissthebook CHE [...]

    21. Yellow Bird shares his new button with his friends but it doesn't do anything. Or does it? It seems Red Bird and Blue Bird have the idea that the button can make Yellow Bird mad. Uh, Oh out! What will the button do next? Read Charise Mericle Harper's book The Good for Nothing Button to find out. This beginning reader for ages 5-7 is a great addition to the Elephant and Piggie Like Reading Series.

    22. Reminiscent of the empathy boxes from Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, the button in this story cause Yellow Bird, Blue Bird, and Red Bird to feel different emotions. Who knows better than children how interacting with useless technology can be fun, funny, and frustrating?

    23. This is another of the Elephant and Piggie Love Reading books where Elephant and Piggie are seen at the beginning and end of the book reading the book by a different author in the middle. In this installment, three birds have a red button which the yellow bird declares "does nothing." However, when the other birds have reactions to it, they decide that it actually does do different things for different people.

    24. Yellow bird brings a red button to show his friends. The button doesn't do anything, really. Except Red bird and Blue bird think it surprises them and makes them sad; also mad and calm. Yellow bird becomes extremely frustrated with the other two birds. He thinks it's ridiculous that they think the button does anything; he is sure the button does nothing.But then all three birds realize that it makes them laugh: the button is funny!A great read-aloud that encourages over-the-top reading.

    25. Good ol' Elephant & Peggie are on the beginning and ending pages reading this book about nothing. Three birds have a "nothing" button. Press it and --nothing! Yet each one has a different reaction. Readers will delight in the secret that they each have different feelings about this button.Engaging early reader.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *