Starr Creek

Starr Creek Starr Creek is the debut novella by Portland writer and musician Nathan Carson Set in rural Oregon Starr Creek features Heavy Metal teens Christian biker gangs and hopped up kids on wheeled

  • Title: Starr Creek
  • Author: NathanCarson
  • ISBN: 9781621052265
  • Page: 183
  • Format: Paperback
  • Starr Creek is the debut novella by Portland writer and musician Nathan Carson Set in 1986 rural Oregon, Starr Creek features Heavy Metal teens, Christian biker gangs, and hopped up kids on 3 wheeled ATVs They all collide when strange occurrences unveil an alien world inhabiting the Oregon woods.

    One thought on “Starr Creek”

    1. This is a book that I literally could not put down.  While evoking feelings of nostalgia for childhood and teenage years, the element that made this novel shine was its ability to paint a picture.  I was drawn immediately into the prologue, and I could visualize the preternatural scene as clearly as moonlight.  There is a joie de vivre throughout the book that pulls the reader through the pages.  I "saw" every part in 3-D and full color (no hallucinogens were involved on my end).  If you [...]

    2. This fast-paced, enjoyable and entertaining weird novella tells the intertwining tales of juvenile/teen/adult characters in backwoods 1980s Oregon that collide in an explosion of Bizarro genre-bending revelation after genre-bending Bizarro revelation.The time of release, the ages of the character groups, along with the mix of science fiction, horror, and other fantastic genres, and certain details like the inclusion of a gaming session of Advanced Dungeons & Dragons and Eggo waffles, make co [...]

    3. A twisted and drug-induced journey through the intersection of Lovecraft, heavy metal, and occultism - Starr Creek managed to whiz by at 100 mph, and left me with barely any time to get my head on straight. So while it never gets stale or boring (as each chapter brings on a slew of strange new delights) the brevity of the story sometimes works against it, and Starr Creek doesn’t always let it’s atmosphere breathe. As such, on occasion, some of the tension is lost to a more action-filled and [...]

    4. My review is based on an advanced, 100 copy, limited releaseStarr Creek is a fast-paced, fun, compulsively readable novella from emerging author Nathan Carson. It tells an interweaving series of tales about shady backwoods lowlifes, some day-tripper teens, a biker gang, a couple of kids up to no good, and an inexplicable cargo cult, and that's all before stuff really starts getting weird. It's set in rural Oregon in the early 1980's, but never gets mired down in ticking off pop-culture reference [...]

    5. Nathan Carson's debut novel Starr Creek is a very ambitious book despite its under 200 pages length. There is a lot going on in it and succeeds in some areas very well. Let's discuss where it succeeds.The author has created a very interesting Oregon environment of tune-outs, drop-outs and turn-ons. Some of them are the exiles of society and others are just teens stoning out for the ride. While none of them grabbed me as essential and fully developed, they are all meant for the plot and speed it [...]

    6. One problem with Lovecraft's Mythos is that it ignores the entire West Coast of the United States. If HPL had grown up in Oregon, this novella is what he would have produced. Plus, the inbred villains in this riotous little volume would teach the folks of Innsmouth what it really means to put outsiders in their place. Cosmic horror and occult mystery bleed together in a landscape populated by white trash, commune-dwelling hippies, and motorcycle gangs, all of whom collide while a band of teens a [...]

    7. Starr​ ​Creek​ ​is​ ​fresh​ ​and​ ​addictive, combining​ ​the​ ​freedom​ ​of​ ​youth​ ​in​ ​the​ ​80’s​ ​with​ ​otherworldly weirdness,​ ​altered​ ​states​ ​of​ ​consciousness​ ​and​ ​backwoods​ ​creeps.​ ​The​ ​best​ ​part​ ​about​ ​all​ ​of these​ ​facets​ ​is​ ​their​ ​organic​ ​and​ ​subtle​ ​use​ ​in​ ​building​ ​this ​surprisingly​ ​pol [...]

    8. A great mix of elements - Lovecraftian, acid, D&D, and rural hillbillies with some fairly good writing. However I had difficulty relating to any of the characters or their motivations. Nobody seemed exactly human, and I was never drawn into their struggles or the swirling motif of the books different elements. It never seemed to coalesce into anything tangible that I could care about - and then abruptly ended.

    9. It's like Stranger Things with copious amounts of acid. The story follows multiple narratives that, as the tale grows, brings the different groups of characters together. I really enjoyed Carson's debut book.On a separate note, this is one of my all-time favorite book covers. Buying Starr Creek is worth it for the cover alone, but everything inside is equally as delicious.

    10. Nathan Carson’s ‘Starr Creek’ has a little bit of everything. At its core, it is a sort of coming-of-age story that reads like a mix between ‘Deliverance’, ‘The Explorers’ and ‘Dazed and Confused’, so you can probably imagine that I had a great time with the book.Firstly, let’s get the little negative out-of-the-way. It actually took me a little time to really get into this. At the start I was bombarded with different characters in quite a short space of time and I was worrie [...]

    11. Highly recommended for those of you for whom the evocations of ordinary nerdy kid life in the 1980s was the best thing about Stranger Things, but if the uneasy balance between the mundane and the horrifically, inexplicably unusual is also appreciated, this book is most definitely for you. It's a quick read - a sunny, undisturbed afternoon would be perfect - and its pacing and rhythms keep the reader gripped from beginning to end.

    12. Initially got my hands on an uncorrected proof. This novel is exactly what I seek in strange fiction - the realities of growing up in the 80s swirled with mind-fucked, gibbering madness!

    13. What a bizarre fun ride. Coen brothers meet Lovecraft. One minute I'm envisioning The Tri-Pods on PBS, the next I feel like Yakkity Sax should be playing. So much fun.

    14. As drummer for Portland-based doom group Witch Mountain, Nathan Carson knows all about heavy metal madness and mind-melting psychedelia. Hence, it’s no surprise that his debut novella, Starr Creek, churns as much with hallucinogenic flamboyance as it does with gloom and grit.It’s been compared to everything from Stranger Things to Twin Peaks to Gummo, but none of those associations really does Starr Creek justice. Set in backwoods Oregon during the 1980s, this surreal cosmic-horror coming-of [...]

    15. First time author, though you'd never know it. Despite the action whirring away from one brief chapter to the next, the characters assert themselves and their motives are clear. I can't stress how much is covered in this slim volume. Weird yet somehow real. A stellar debut. I can't wait to see what comes next. Recommended for fans of Stranger Things, Wolf in the White Van and Bay Area Thrash Metal.

    16. Authentic, fun, and kind of gross. I loved this book and look forward to more from this author. It's changed my mind about Lovecraftian themes which I've normally found to be a bit verbose and drab-- Carson makes it gritty and dirty and sets it to a rock n' roll soundtrack in the backwoods of Oregon, complete with hallucinogens.

    17. Okay, picture this. David Lynch and Steven Spielberg meet up for coffee. Spielberg is bummed out because he desperately wants to recapture the magic of his early movies, but can’t come up with a good idea. Lynch agrees to help him, but Spielberg is intimidated by the man’s creative genius and feels that he needs a little chemical assistance to be on the same wavelength. So, when the two directors sit down to develop a story idea, Spielberg drops a ridiculous amount of acid and trips so hard [...]

    18. Psychic fungus, dog food eating contests, D&D metalheads on acid-fueled vision quests, pre-teens on 3-wheeled ATVs, cultists vs bikers, and giant creatures that defy description! Nathan Carson's Starr Creek is a trippy romp through the backwoods of the pacific northwest, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and H.P. Lovecraft.  Comparisons to Twin Peaks are also applicable, although Starr Creek is in my estimation considerably weirder.  There were even some elements which reminded me of a l [...]

    19. This book starts a bit slow and the prose is a bit pretentious, especially early on. However, it can serve as a good vocabulary lesson.Twenty pages in I started getting hooked. I realized that this was one of those intertwining tales of convergence in which we get introduced to disparate characters (a pair of pre-teens, a trio of teens, a hillbilly family and a lakeside commune) with interconnected destinies. I enjoy these kinds of stories. Furthermore, this story is set in the 1980's, one of my [...]

    20. Recently I had the distinct pleasure of receiving an advance copy of Nathan Carson’s new novel Starr Creek. It took me a bit to get to sit down and read it because I was waiting to give it my full attention. So, not long ago I got comfy on my front porch and dipped in – and it took me for an amazing ride!The story follows two sets of kids: an older group who are busily experimenting with a smorgasbord of mind altering substances, and a couple of younger boys who are more concerned with ridin [...]

    21. "Starr Creek" hit the ground running and went by so fast I had to read it again to make sure I didn't miss anything. The universe of "Starr Creek" is instantly, vividly real, and even a little familiar. Carson's well disciplined economy of language bursts with poetic word choices that convey what might have otherwise been paragraphs. My only complaint is I want to know more about everything in the book. I could write quite a list of open questions, but I don't feel cheated, either. This is the k [...]

    22. Njäh.Natürlich ist Starr Creek absolute Schundliteratur, welche sich selbst gerne irgendwo zwischen Lovecraft und Twin Peaks sieht. Carson klaut was das Zeug hält und pfeift komplett auf so etwas wie dramaturgischen Aufbau, Charakterentwicklung oder gar erzählerische Details. Innerhalb eines groben Settings wird schlicht eine vermeintlich abscheuliche, absurde oder provokante Idee an die nächste geklebt, woraus dann eine kurzweilige, irgendwie unsinnige, aber doch auch nicht reizlose Horror [...]

    23. Short, sweet and relentlessly entertaining, Nathan Carson's debut novella Starr Creek may not be a thematically deep book but it possesses colourful imagery, nostalgic sentiment and varied action in abundance.As a musician, music journalist, radio host, DJ and lord-knows-what-else, the author clearly had a wealth of experience both of life and creativity before turning his hand to fiction, or at least before pursuing it in a major way. It's hardly surprising that the setting draws heavily on his [...]

    24. Having enjoyed Nathan Carson's short fiction (his stories in Ross Lockhart's Eternal Frankenstein and Joe Pulver's Madness of Dr. Caligari), I came to Starr Creek expecting a fun ride. I was not disappointed. Starr Creek is an imaginative and adrenaline-pumping novella punctuated with moments of powerful 80s nostalgia. I grew up in Oregon during the late 70s and early 80s, and many things in Starr Creek ring true for me. I wasn't into the drug scene, so I can't speak to that aspect, but Carson m [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *