The Bones of It

The Bones of It A psychological crime thriller set in present day County Down Twenty two year old Scott McAuley son of ex paramilitary Duke McAuley pens diary entries When Scott is ousted from his politics degree c

  • Title: The Bones of It
  • Author: Kelly Creighton
  • ISBN: 9781910742020
  • Page: 434
  • Format: Paperback
  • A psychological crime thriller set in present day County Down Twenty two year old Scott McAuley, son of ex paramilitary Duke McAuley, pens diary entries When Scott is ousted from his politics degree course for joyriding, he returns home to live with Duke for the first time in his memory When Scott was a baby, Duke was imprisoned for the murders of two young Catholic menA psychological crime thriller set in present day County Down Twenty two year old Scott McAuley, son of ex paramilitary Duke McAuley, pens diary entries When Scott is ousted from his politics degree course for joyriding, he returns home to live with Duke for the first time in his memory When Scott was a baby, Duke was imprisoned for the murders of two young Catholic men, and Scott s grandmother, Isla, became his guardian Scott finds it difficult living with Duke now, and even so when he starts getting paranoid that Duke is secretly seeing his ex girlfriendazon Bones It The PRAISE FOR THE BONES OF IT Compelling, compulsive, compassionate Irish Examiner A brilliant crime debut, chilling, compulsive and beautifully written Fans of The Butcher Boy and The Book of Evidence will find much to love in The Bones of It A hugely impressive addition to the growing body of Irish crime fiction New York Times bestselling author, Brian McGillowayABOUT THE AUTHORKelly Creighton is an arts facilitator and the editor of The Incubator literary journal Her debut short story collection Bank Holiday Hurricane was published by Doire Press, September 2017 Her poetry chapbook, Three Primes, was published by Lapwing, September 2013 Creighton co founded the Square Circle Writers Group in Newtownards She was named runner up for the Michael McLaverty Short Story Award in 2014, and has been shortlisted for the Seamus Heaney Award for New Writing, the Fish Short Story Prize and the C irt New Writing Prize for fiction She received an SIAP grant from the Arts Council of Northern Ireland in 2013 Her writing has featured in The Stinging Fly, Litro and Cyphers, among other places.

    One thought on “The Bones of It”

    1. This is labeled a crime novel but the reader is kept in the dark as to what the crime is until 90% through. Scott McAuley is 22 and was primarily raised by his grandmother after his mother's death, and his father's imprisonment for the murder of two Catholics. The story is told through Scott's diary entries and it moves around in time, often delving into past events. As it is told from Scott's point of view, we see that others marginalize him, and see his behavior (mostly not described in detail [...]

    2. The Bones of It is a debut novel by Northern Ireland author, Kelly Creighton, which tells the story of Scott McAuley, written in the form of a diary revealing events which lead up to his imprisonment for the murder of two innocent people. Scott is very much an antihero, lacking in social skills and seemingly unable to develop healthy relationships with those around him. Through his diary entries we discover that his mother died suddenly when he was two years old and his father, an ex-paramilitar [...]

    3. This debut novel is a dark study of a disturbed young man. It is structured as an ‘ all is not what it seems’ thriller, and does actually build towards an interesting conclusion with many stark, shocking scenes on the way.There is not much light here to temper the shade, and even being given an insight into the suffering of the characters, I struggled to find much empathy for Scott or his father, making the first half of the book hard enough work for me . Things improved as it went on, provi [...]

    4. This is a post troubles novel dealing with the family and personal breakdowns of two men. You are lulled in with the young man being thrown out of university, the older man is never viewed with much sympathy and the dysfunction of the family is sadly related through the relationship of the granny. I will look out for more of this author

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *