Montana: Then and Now

Montana Then and Now When Montana Territory was established in it was a land of tepees and ramshackle cabins of lawless vigilantes and miners scraping out meager livings One hundred and fifty years later the drama

  • Title: Montana: Then and Now
  • Author: Aaron Parrett
  • ISBN: 9780962378911
  • Page: 314
  • Format: Paperback
  • When Montana Territory was established in 1864, it was a land of tepees and ramshackle cabins, of lawless vigilantes and miners scraping out meager livings One hundred and fifty years later, the dramatic changes to the Treasure State are overshadowed only by the startling similarities On the occasion of Montana s 150th territorial anniversary, and with a perspective bornWhen Montana Territory was established in 1864, it was a land of tepees and ramshackle cabins, of lawless vigilantes and miners scraping out meager livings One hundred and fifty years later, the dramatic changes to the Treasure State are overshadowed only by the startling similarities On the occasion of Montana s 150th territorial anniversary, and with a perspective born from a lifetime s devotion to the history of his home state, author Aaron Parrett compares where we started with where we are today, and along the way shows us a Montana we never could have previously imagined In the tradition of Joseph Kinsey Howard and K Ross Toole, Aaron Parrett interrogates Montana as both place and idea, revealing that what has long distinguished the state robust island communities surrounded by a sea of redemptive space has largely survived Edwin Dobb U.C Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism Aaron Parrett has told Montana s story entertainingly without shying from the darker bits The result is a romp through our state s history that is at once lighthearted and intelligent Molly Holz Editor, Montana The Magazine of Western History Aaron Parret s Montana Then and Now stitches together the tapestry that is Montana s 150 year long history with the perspective born of years of sincere appreciation and study This account gives us pause and at the same time gives us hope, that Montana s next generation realizes its role in preserving the unique qualities inherent in the last best place Stephanie Ambrose Tubbs Why Sacagawea Deserves the Day Off and Other Lessons of the Lewis and Clark Trail

    One thought on “Montana: Then and Now”

    1. If I was grading this book as something a student turned in for one of the classes I teach, I'd give it a solid D. Parrett did the following in several places in this book: failed to fact check, match citations to proper sources or properly cite sources, and in some cases seemed to make up sources. There are things in the text that are given citations, yet the volume referenced (correct or not) is simply missing from the bibliography. The above mentioned comes before I even comment about the fre [...]

    2. This year marks the 150th anniversary of Montana's founding as a territory. Here is a nice overview of the state's history.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *