Tony's Bread: An Italian Folktale

Tony s Bread An Italian Folktale Tony dreams that one day he ll become the most famous baker in northern Italy His poor daughter Serafina wants to be allowed to marry Each of their dreams seems far away until Angelo a rich young nob

  • Title: Tony's Bread: An Italian Folktale
  • Author: Tomie dePaola
  • ISBN: 9780613014922
  • Page: 479
  • Format: Library Binding
  • Tony dreams that one day he ll become the most famous baker in northern Italy His poor daughter Serafina wants to be allowed to marry Each of their dreams seems far away until Angelo, a rich young nobleman from Milan, appears and devises a way to make everyone s dreams come true Full color.

    One thought on “Tony's Bread: An Italian Folktale”

    1. A baker loses his daughter but gains a bakery in the grand city of Milano after meeting a determined nobleman and baking a unique loaf of bread.

    2. Title: Tony's Bread: An Italian FolktaleAuthor: Tomie dePaolaIllustrator: Genre: European FolkateTheme(s): Opening line/sentence: Once along time ago in a small village outside the grand village of Milano, there lived a baker named Tony.Brief Book Summary: Tony, a baker in a small village has a daughter who is very marriageable but he thinks no man is worthy enough for her. When Angelo, a rich man comes to town and wants to marry his daughter, he gives Tony his bakery where he makes a certain fa [...]

    3. Text Set book #8This book is an Italian fairy-tale-like folklore book about a young man who seeks a princess, and works with Pasta in order to gain her father’s respect. At the end of the story, Tony creates the Italian bread, panetonne. This book demonstrates how different one cultures side dish can be from another.I would introduce the book in this way: “Introduction: In Italy, a country in Europe, there is a special kind of bread Italians and now anybody can eat during special occasions. [...]

    4. This book is an Italian folktale by Tomie dePaola. It goes through the story of a character named Tony who is eager to have his own bakery in Milano and to become the most famous baker in Italy. He has a daughter named Serafina and Tony feels she is beautiful for any man in Italy and keeps her protected in the house, as he believes no suitor will ever be good enough for his beloved daughter. A passer-by named Angelo sees Serafina and instantly falls in love with her beauty and promises she will [...]

    5. dePaola, Tomie. (1989). Tony’s Bread. New York, NY: G.P. Putnam’s Sons.Annotation: For preschoolers to second grade. Tomie dePaola’s illustrations live up to his reputation of creating cozy warm characters and settings to supplement beautiful stories. This book is an Italian Folktale that tells the story of the creation of panettone, Italian bread. A baker, Tony, and his daughter, Serafina, are given the opportunity to move to Milano if Tony allows Angelo, a rich man, marry his daughter. A [...]

    6. This book was very interesting. It is an Italian folktale and you can tell because it uses Italian language. Some examples are "Dolci”-candy, or “Una principessa”-a princess. The pictures were very colorful and portrayed Italian culture very well. This can be used for a 1st through 3rd grade classroom. It is a book that really demonstrated the Italian heritage. This is a Pourquoi tale because learn more about what type of bread they eat quite frequently and how it became invented. This boo [...]

    7. Adorable! A true fairy tale of love & good fortune! It's too bad real life doesn't always follow suit of fairy tales! Although having everything good all the time doesn't make it realbut this simple read will allow you to dream right along with the characters!This book is simply a fairy tale. One of love at first sight, those who want love to happen, one who would like his dreams to come true, and in the endeveryone is granted their hearts desire! I especially love the hand written letters t [...]

    8. Tony’s BreadK-4th gradeTomie dePaolas illustrations are fun and colorful. They are simple and cartoonish in nature. The pictures are each framed and fill the pages and bring the story to life. The text is in English and incorporates Italian words and their meanings as well. The text is also used as part of the illustrations in letters that Angelo wrote to Signore Baker and Bella. This book may be appealing to children because it has a happy ending and everyone gets what they want.Language Arts [...]

    9. Buona Lettura, yes this is definately buona lettura.This title was readily accessible to me and hey its Tomie, so i have had it home with me several weeks. What a sweet surprise for me that it turned out to be an Italian folktale. It was charming and Italian--food as well as romanced thanks Tomie for teaching me that biscotti means cookie.According to the author's note Tomie was the creative director of Whitebird books for G. C. Putumn which was publishing international folktales, so now I am in [...]

    10. In the tradition of Strega Nona, Tony's Bread tells the story of Tony and Serafina, both having dreams and both being realized. Tony wants to be the most well-known bakery in Milano. His daughter Serafina sits in her room, crying, because Tony does not think any young man is good enough for her and he refuses all courting appeals. All this changes when the young nobleman, Antony, sees Serafina, falls in love with her and devises a plan to marry Serafina by giving Tony his dream - to become the m [...]

    11. I think Tomie dePaola has such a fantastic ability to bring old world to the children! The story is how a widower, baker who has a dream of a bakery in Milan, who has a daughter, and three aunts, meet a nobleman from Milan who makes it all happen and marries the beautiful daughter. Rich in vocabulary, Italian and English the story is one of true fairy tale, Everyone lives happily ever after. This would be a great story to incorporate the social studies of Italy, and a baking extension of panetto [...]

    12. This was a fairly entertaining read. There were a couple of parts I found a little ridiculous, but they didn't bother me too much. I also thought the story was a bit random, but still enjoyable. And of course, I always like Tomie's illustrations. I'd recommend, especially if you like reading Italian folklore.*Taken from my book reviews blog: reviewsatmse/2011

    13. My 4 yr old thoroughly enjoyed this book. Since he is of Italian heritage, it had more meaning for me, since he is very young. The illustrations were very nice, and the story line lively and fun. I will definitely purchase this book for my child. I love folktales to begin with, this was a sweet story and decided to make panettone in a flowerpot for Christmas this yr. Recipe at this site to make your own! allrecipes/Recipe/panetton

    14. I read this tale in Tommie's Big Book of Folktales. It wasn't as good as I thought it would turn out to be unfortunately. It was a story about a king and his protection and love for his precious daughter Angelina. Everyone in the town knows that the kings daughter is off limits and that he believes no man will ever be good enough for her. Little does the king know there is a very determined young gentleman ready to fight for the women he loves.

    15. Tomie dePaola has taken full advantage of the folktale style in this picture book, telling a story that is both interesting and culturally informative. Tony's Bread would be a perfect book to use in an elementary school unit about countries outside the U.S to give a general sense of the feel behind Italian stories about the origin of favorite foods. I would give one and a half stars to this book.

    16. Normally I like Tommie dePaola's work but this story fell flat. I don't know if it was the intertwined plots or what but the tale didn't touch my heart the way his stories usually do. Plus the bread he describes reminds me of fruitcake and the put me off.

    17. I liked this book. It is a great lesson to use for Social Studies about Tony that wants to be the best baker someday. It is an Italian folktale.

    18. DePaola is one of this parent's favorite authors. The tale kept all of us interested. Repeated readings bring new details in the illustrations to everyone's attention.

    19. One of my son's favourites, we recently refound it, and I'm having to re read it all over again, trying to recall my pronounciation of the italian words.

    20. Old women are interfering gossips, young women are prizes. Such is the nature of folktales. I love the folk art.

    21. Charming rendition of a folk tale about the origin of panettonne, the marvelous Italian Christmas bread. Lovely illustrations too.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *