The Age of the Platform: How Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Google Have Redefined Business

The Age of the Platform How Amazon Apple Facebook and Google Have Redefined Business Buoyed by the success of Apple Facebook and Google thousands of companies of all sizes are creating vibrant ecosystems and in the process reaping big rewards In the tradition of The Long Tail

  • Title: The Age of the Platform: How Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Google Have Redefined Business
  • Author: Phil Simon
  • ISBN: 9780982930250
  • Page: 269
  • Format: Paperback
  • Buoyed by the success of , Apple, Facebook, and Google, thousands of companies of all sizes are creating vibrant ecosystems and, in the process, reaping big rewards In the tradition of The Long Tail, The Age of the Platform demonstrates how the world of business today is vastly different from that of even 10 years ago.

    One thought on “The Age of the Platform: How Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Google Have Redefined Business”

    1. Phil Simon’s newest book, The Age of the Platform, is the kind of book to read if you want to better understand the Internet and how your company can fit into it and create a business model to profit from it.The subtitle “How , Apple, Facebook, and Google Have Redefined Business” gives further clues of what this book is about. Simon refers to these four companies as the “Gang of Four.” It’s a term first used by Eric Schmidt, Executive Chairman of Google, to describe four tech compani [...]

    2. I’m feeling guilty. I like Phil Simon’s new book, The Age of the Platform: How , Apple, Facebook, and Google Have Redefined Business, because I agree with almost everything he says. The guilt comes from feeling like I should be looking for ideas that challenge my own, but with Phil Simon I think I’ve found an futurist/analyst who uses many of the same lenses I do. He shows how “each piece interacts with other parts of its ecosystem and the world at large" (Introduction). I feel less guil [...]

    3. This book is a parade example of the next big literary trend, Casual Reading. You saw it here first.POP QUIZ: “Casual Reading” is:a) laying around, smelly and unshaven, on a rainy Sunday afternoon with a good hardcover;b) sneaking a read on your mobile device, sitting in your fabric-walled cubical on Friday afternoon in pink Oxford shirt, chinos, and a open collar;c) an important new and highly trademarked-by-me concept which will support me in my rapidly-approaching old age, much as Elvis [...]

    4. This is an interesting book to understand modern trends in business. Simon's views are that we live in the Age of the Platform. Exit the old businesses which based their activity on closed environments and not granting access to competitors to any of their assets. New successful companies play the platform, play the interconnection with other platforms and profit from this. The successful business is based on a successful platform with hundreds of 'planks' and links with all other platforms. Aut [...]

    5. Fantastic read. He nails it on why these companies have been so successful and why previous competitors have failed. To me it is the innovation but also the ability to change with the environment and standards that have came into play. Over the last 15 years I still say the ever decreasing costs of memory and the ability to continue to increase the amount we can store has been the most drastic innovation since the industrial revolution. The speed at which we can process today is phenomenal and c [...]

    6. This is the first book I've read from this author.This book, as the title says, talks about platforms, giving some close attention to the so called "Gang of Four". It's not an how-to book, it's more a book about the importance of having a strong, meaningful and open platform. A technological platform is something a business must have nowadays, a platform that allows the business to grow, thrive and scale.If you are interested in the subject, if you have an online business or if you simply want t [...]

    7. I am in the tech industry, so for me there weren't many new concepts here. However, I gave the book to a partner in one of my businesses that is new to "tech". He is getting a lot out of it. Simon's concept of not focusing like a laser on a niche runs counter to much of the conversation in the start-up interwebs, but I could relate to what he was saying. Focus too much and you may miss tangential opportunities - stretching a bit - but what he called "planks". I have added "planks" to my vocab, s [...]

    8. I probably would have rated the book 4 stars if I had read it closer to its 2011 publication date, and wish I had run across it when it was first published. Reading it in early 2014, the book's overall thesis and platform models are still useful, but a lot of the , Apple, Facebook, and Google details were a bit stale. Still recommended reading for anyone interested in recent information technology and Internet market dynamics.

    9. A must-read book for knowledge workers, managers, directors, C-levels, and entrepreneurs on building and managing technology. Simon not only explains how the internet created a new frontier for platforms, he describes how , Apple, Facebook, and Google dominated books, music, social networking, and search.More importantly, Simon shares how entrepreneurs can find the white spaces by building their own platforms based on best practices by the Gang of Four.

    10. ในโลกดิจิตอลข้างหน้า ความยิ่งใหญ่จะไม่สามารถสร้างขึ้นมาด้วยรูปแบบเดิมๆ ที่ว่า winner get all จะหมดไปAge of platform ทำให้เราเห็นว่าการเติบใหญ่ของ Tech-company ที่ยิ่งใหญ่นั้นเกี่ยวข้องกับการที่ทำให้ [...]

    11. Although might seem shallow at times, this book does a good job of starting to think Platform way in the new age. Highly recommended for developers, freelancers and leaders alike in today's age! Easily readable - but do take your own time to internalize the learning.

    12. A must read for anyone interested in how Google, Apple and Internet are ruling and changing our worlds.highly recommended

    13. Good read. I have a long time interest in the topic, so not a lot of insight, but seeing all pieces of platform thinking in one place is great.

    14. The Age of the Platform is not book about platforms, it is about , Apple, Google and Facebook. It misses the mark defining a platform as having “Iconic and Visionary Leaders”(p.145) and “Platforms are Inherently Political”(p.150). Neither of these traits, and many more stated in the book, are the basis of platforms themselves. Platforms are not defined as “not monopolies--natural or otherwise”(p.33). Stating qualities that these four companies have does not define a platform. A rough [...]

    15. "Platform" is a very unique type of business – overwhelmingly powerful when successful (Microsoft and Apple are both examples), but very few people get platform, or understand why it differs from an app.This book is the only one on the subject, so I tried to struggle through it. Unfortunately, it sucks. Go read Joel Spolsky's (dated, but still applicable) blog post on the subject instead.(Made it to page 140 of 247.)

    16. Great summary of what is happening in the world of ecommerce. If you don't have an API you may be out of luck. More to the point, learn how , Apple and eBay are creating new markets and new features every day, and why it's only just beginning. There are no great technical "how-to's" or coding samples, but a nice overview of the brave new world of platforms and why it matters.

    17. The author is more successful in describing how the Big 4 companies, Apple, Google, and Facebook have created their platforms than prescribe a clear-cut roadmap of how individuals/small businesses can create their own platforms.

    18. It's a nice concept to talk about the gang of four -- amazon, apple, facebook, google. But it failed to discuss what truly made it a platform than simply talking about its product and history. The part talking about platform's characteristics and how to build platform has nothing profound.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *